REVIEW–The Photographer Trilogy Box Set by Sarah Robinson

Book Title - The Photographer Trilogy box set

Author - Sarah Robinson

Stars - 5

Buy Link – AMAZON

An Amazon Bestselling Romantic Suspense Trilogy. Includes Tainted Bodies, Tainted Pictures, and Untainted, plus the added bonus of a deleted scene about the Photographer's past.

He takes a picture of every woman he kills.

She takes nothing from anyone.

Kate Jackson is a woman haunted by her past with no direction in life, and surviving only on her close relationship with her sister, Annie. Until she meets charming lawyer, Derrick Kane. Despite having a painful past of his own, he gives Kate everything she could have ever wanted in a lover.

Just when she thinks she might have found the key to learning how to live again, maybe even how to love, The Photographer rips it all away from her with one click of his camera.

Somehow she survived, determined to rise above the trauma life has dealt her. Yet, she doesn't get away that easy, The Photographer isn't done with her yet.

The infamous serial killer begins dropping menacing hints at every turn.

Reminding Kate that he owns her. That he broke her body.

The small, quiet life that Kate had built for herself with Derrick is over. Pulverized by the twisted workings of the notorious serial killer and the agony of being betrayed by the one man she had trusted her heart to. Trust had never come easily to her, yet she had given it to Derrick. And he destroyed her with it.

Kate is a fighter and refusing to allow a sadistic killer to take everything from her yet again, she delves into the police investigation targeting The Photographer and finally revealing his true identity. Kate is fighting for justice while fighting to reclaim the man she loves, and somehow learn to trust him again.

But when an innocent life is on the line, the cost of justice could be more than love can afford. Kate quickly learns that finding the face behind the mask, doesn't make you safe.

Monsters are only uglier in the light of day.

**Please note that there is no cliffhanger at the end of this series and everything is fully wrapped up. This box set also includes a never before read, deleted scene about The Photographer's childhood.

DISCLAIMER: Due to violent and dark subject matter, this story is intended for readers over the age of 18 years old. Those with triggers for sexual abuse or violence should take care of themselves while reading this book. Please note that scenes around that topic are done for a purpose and handled delicately, they are not just included for some thrill or cheap aspect.

Tainted Bodies:
This is the first book in The Photographer Trilogy by Sarah Robinson. The main character, Kate Jackson, lives alone in Washington, DC and works for her "uncle" Lenny. He is a childhood friend of her father. The story begins with Kate walking up to a podium to give a speech to law enforcement. This hints that the story is going to be bigger than we know.
Kate has suffered unimaginable trauma when she was 6 years old. Her mother used this for attention and her father calls her a liar. This shaped how she views life, and how not to trust that anyone will have your back when things go wrong. Her closest trusted family to her is her little sister Annie. Annie lives in New York City. They are very close because when they were young, their mother left them and their father turned to booze and died when Kate was in middle school. Annie is the only true family Kate has left.
She meets a man named Derrick one day at a coffee shop and soon they are dating. Derrick has a lot of baggage just like Kate does. Slowly we learn what all is holding him back from getting serious with Kate. After a few months, they go on vacation to a bed and breakfast in Delaware. Things go really well and her life is looking good. When they return, really horrible things happen to Kate and she has trouble dealing with the aftermath. She struggles to do the right things and just when she is at her lowest point, Derrick does something bad. How she reacts and deals with all of this is what the story is about.
I liked the different direction this story moves in. It is a breath of fresh air, completely different then other books of the same genre. This book has mystery, suspense, romance, intrigue. It is the whole package. I am looking forward to seeing how this trilogy plays out, and if you like a deeper story, but don't want gritty, this is a good place to start. Although the subject matter could be graphic, Sarah has written this as to not be so in your face like some books. I found myself getting frustrated with the characters, which for me is a good thing. When you start looking at the characters as if they are real, then the author has done a wonderful job of bringing them to life. This is a very interesting start to a very interesting trilogy, and I for one, won't miss a page. Check it out for yourself!
Tainted pictures:
This second installment in the Photography Trilogy is absolutely amazing. I was hooked from page one. This book takes the story to a whole new level. If you enjoyed the first book, you are gonna love this one! Kate begins to take back her power and go from victim to empowered woman. She is learning to trust Derrick again. And she opens up to him and shares all of her demons with him. He is trying to win her trust back and feels awful for how he treated her when she needed him most. He has a ways to go and I find that I wished he would tell the cops all that he has learned. The detectives in this case are very dedicated to finding the creep that attacked her, and as she shares all of what happened to her, they start finding out how far this crime might go. This book is action packed and there are so many plot twists and turns, I could not put this book down for a second. The ending of this book will blow your mind and I cannot wait to see how the story ends. This book grips you from start to finish, and it is quite a ride.
I have followed this series since its inception, and this final book in the series is by far the best book! Sarah has out done herself on this one. The first few pages of this book had my stomach hovering somewhere near my shoes, I do not think I took a breath until the last page of Chapter 1. Holy cow! Do not read this book if you cannot stand being on the edge of your comfy reading chair. I am pretty sure I aged a bit from the first page until the last. This book proved that no one is safe, crappy things happen to good people, life is not fair, and through it all- love isn't everything, it is the only thing.
After Tainted Bodies and Tainted Pictures, we were all hanging on the cliff because something bad had happened. Well, the wait is over. Something very bad has happened. And no, I am not telling what that is. But those left behind have to come together and find the Photographer. Fast. The twists and turns this roller coaster travels on threw me for a loop many times over. Kate needed justice. I hoped she feels she got it. We get to see new sides of Liz, Annie, Derrick, and the photographer. Some things you may have wondered like why Kate are answered. And I am very happy with how the ending played out, to a point. The author had done a remarkable job of having this series play out like it could in real life, not just going and giving us a perfect happily ever after. It is a brilliant read. For those who have toiled along side me waiting for this book, your wait is over, and it was soooo worth the wait. And to Sarah Robinson, bravo baby, you blew it out of the park! If you haven't read the trilogy, all I can say is why not? Go grab them all! And buckle up, it is going to be a bumpy ride!

Heidi Ryan gives The Photographer Trilogy box set

No comments:

Post a Comment